Why I Obey the Speed Limit

While on my way to the library this morning, it struck me how many cars kept passing me in the left lane. I have made it a habit to drive in the right lane at the speed limit while on the highway. God’s word makes it clear that I should “support the ruling authorities,” and that means obeying their laws. In my mind, the speed limits were designed to keep people safe on the road. They were designed by people who know a lot more about city planning and road safety than I do. So, I thought I should give them the benefit of the doubt.

Furthermore, I have been pondering how I could be an example of Christ while driving. One of those ways could be to display Christian signifiers on my car, and there’s nothing wrong with that. But a better way is to openly-and sometimes defiantly-obey the laws of the road. It actually amazes me that so many people are willing to speed around me. I will often be left behind after a pack of cars drives closer to me and then passes by ahead of me. These cars are going 10-20 miles over the speed limit. Do they not realize they are driving large, deadly weapons? Do they not care about the people who could get hurt because of their reckless driving? Are they under some kind of delusion that they could stop in time while driving so close to the car ahead of them?

But it is neither my job to judge them nor within my ability to speak to them. Instead, I focus on driving within the boundaries of the speed limit (typically at the speed limit on the highway) in order to be an example of safe driving to my fellow human beings. If my action is motivated by loving them and not judging them, then the best thing I can do for them is to show them the right way. They will see from my action that what they are doing is wrong, and how they react is their own business.

I choose to drive the speed limit because I love them. I love them to show them that Jesus first loved me. Jesus loves you, and he wants you to be safe on the road; for your sake as well as others. Pass this message along if you wish more people would drive safely.

Leave a Reply

